What direction should I go?

I’m not talking about North, South, East, West, left or right. I’m talking about life. It’s a question that we all ask at some point, whether out loud or just to ourselves. Sure, someone can tell you where they think you should go but the choice is ultimately yours. They key here being that when you ask someone else for advice is what’s THEY believe is best for you or what THEY want to see you do. Everyone can give you advice but only you can decide what is best for you or which direction you should go.  

So, here’s my advice . . .

Limbo . . . That in between place when we aren’t sure what to do or we feel like we are in an eternal holding pattern that will never end. Limbo is not a bad place or a scary place. Sure, we don’t like to be there and it makes us anxious. Trust me, all the times that I’ve had to wait for a decision to know what to do had led me down that path of screaming, crying and complete panic attack. I’m not saying that I’m completely in control now and I definitely still have my moments but I’m learning to accept the present and embrace my past because the past, whether I like it or not, has shaped me into the person I am, my thoughts, feelings and reactions. Limbo gives us a chance to look at all of our options and layout every possible path that could happen. Yes, it’s nerve wracking and frustrating but when you breathe in and out you see that there are many options and at the end of the day everything will get figured out.  

When you’ve planned out every option and they are all sitting in front of you like a huge menu from a restaurant you have to make a decision. The best advice I ever received was if you’re not happy where you are do something to change it. That doesn’t mean it has to be a huge change like me, quitting my teaching job and joining the Army. Don’t do that unless you’re ultimately prepared for the fallout. What I’m talking about can be something small like turning off your Facebook notifications, signing up for on-line dating or simply a getting up and going for a walk instead of sitting and thinking by yourself. (All things I’ve done)….. Pick an option, as long as it doesn’t hurt anyone else or have bad intentions, there’s ultimately no wrong way to go. The worst thing you can do is to do nothing.  

Go North, South, East or West. Buy the plane ticket, take the vacation, go to the concert, send out the resume, call that person back, register for the 5K or marathon, go to dinner by yourself, read the book, try the new food, wear the bright red lipstick, go to the beach in the winter, have coffee at 3:00am and watch the rain, make a wish on a star, write a blog, get up and move your body, dance, live, sing, laugh, wear your favorite outfit that only you likes . . . . Who cares what someone else thinks? Who are you really trying to impress? Take care of yourself because at the end of the day only you can do that AND only you knows what best for YOU. (At one point people probably thought I was insane because I would just get up and do something new, fly somewhere to meet someone I barely knew, get up 3:00am to get to a marathon, skydive….I didn’t always know where I was going but I was going to go and try.)

Embrace being in limbo because being in Limbo means you’re at a transition point in your life! Embrace Limbo. Take Limbo out on a date and see what’s it made of. It’s made of you! Tell Limbo, “I know you exist and I know you want to take me down and make me feel lost but I’m not going to let you. I’m going to go out and do something today. I’m not going to let you hold me back from being the amazing human I was meant to be.” Then go North, South, East or West . . . Do something small, get the coffee or do something big, go on the date, but whatever you do, do something. 

4 thoughts on “What direction should I go?

Add yours

  1. Oddly enough, I literally just posted yesterday about limbo and direction and I was asking others what they thought…lol
    This is 100% a relevant post for me to see and I’m glad I did! Thank you, so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol. I woke up thinking about it this morning . . Thinking I spend so much time worrying about what could happen instead of just doing something and seeing what happens. How much time do we spend in our lives waiting for a sign instead of just making our own signs? Anyways . . .
      You’re welcome!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

